DREAM THEATER keyboardist Jordan Rudess will perform a two-piano classical concert event with his longtime Juilliard school friend, pianist Judith Lynn Stillman, on Saturday, December 15 at Sapinsley Hall in Providence, Rhode Island. They will be playing the greats: Mozart, Brahms and a special treat for DREAM THEATER fans.

“It’s taken a lot of shredding, I mean practicing, leading up to this special evening, with so much new repertoire to learn, but I am beyond thrilled to be taking the stage with my dear friend, Judith Lynn Stillman,” Jordan said in a statement. “We met in the ’70s when we were piano students in Juilliard’s pre-college division. Through the years, although our careers have taken very different paths, we have stayed connected in our shared love of the piano. We have literally been devoted to mastering the piano for more than 50 years each. At the very least, come to this concert to witness what that level of commitment to the piano sounds like!!”

Saturday, December 15 at 7:30 p.m.
Sapinsley Hall
Nazarian Center for the Performing Arts
600 Mt. Pleasant Avenue
Providence, RI 02908

Tickets can be purchased at this location.

Rudess recently embarked on a three-continent solo piano tour, “From Bach To Rock”, featuring the music of DREAM THEATER reimagined for the piano. The trek began on November 12 with performances in Japan, Taibei and Singapore, followed by seven shows in Australia and New Zealand and five shows in Argentina, Chile and Brazil.

In a recent interview with The Rockpit, Jordan spoke about how he first discovered rock music. “Well, when I was really little and really focusing on classical, I also was aware of things like THE BEATLES and had a bunch of the old 45 records,” he said. “I didn’t have a chance to really dive into that and get seriously into it; I was just into the fringe of the whole thing. But as I got older into being a teenager, then I had friends who would turn me on to some stuff they thought I would love, which I did, like GENESIS, YES and GENTLE GIANT, EMERSON, LAKE & PALMER, and those things had a huge influence. The thing that really led me astray from the classical way was listening to EMERSON, LAKE & PALMER‘s ‘Tarkus’ album; that was a huge influence in my life. I loved that album — I thought it was amazing — and it kind of made me think there was something more beyond classical that I wanted to really know about.”

DREAM THEATER‘s 14th studio album, “Distance Over Time”, will be released on February 22, 2019. The disc marks the first for the band’s new label InsideOut Music. The artwork was created by longtime cover collaborator Hugh Syme (RUSH, IRON MAIDEN, STONE SOUR). “Distance Over Time” was produced by guitarist John Petrucci, mixed by Ben Grosse and mastered by Tom Baker.

METAL CHURCH singer Mike Howe has told Myglobalmind that meeting Rob Halford and being on the road with the JUDAS PRIEST singer was “a huge highlight” of his career. “I can recall one time leaving the dressing room to go the stage and him telling me that he just got done listening to ‘The Human Factor’ and how it got him pumped up to go on stage,” Howe said. “I was, like, ‘Wow!’

“My favorite story that I like to tell about Rob is when I went back to my hometown of Detroit to play an outdoor area, my whole family came out to see the show,” he continued. “My mother, knowing Rob was a big influence [on me], asked if she could meet him. I told her, ‘After the show, at the meet-and-greet, I’ll introduce you to him.’ After our set, I came back out to the tent where my family had a big table. I saw Rob and asked if he would take a photo with my mom. He said, ‘Let me tell you something, Mike. Your Mom is just like my mom, and she already came over and got her photo with me.’ [Laughs] I thanked Rob and went over to the table and saw my mom with her head down looking like a little girl who got her hand caught in the cookie jar. It was so awesome.”

METAL CHURCH supported JUDAS PRIEST on the “Operation Rock & Roll” tour in 1991. Also appearing on the bill were ALICE COOPER, MOTÖRHEAD and DANGEROUS TOYS. The trek, which was assembled in honor of the troops fighting in “Operation Desert Storm” in the Middle East, was PRIEST‘s final tour with Halford before his exit from the band in July 1991 and return 12 years later.

METAL CHURCH‘s 12th full-length studio album, “Damned If You Do”, will be released on December 7 via Rat Pak Records. The effort will also be available in Europe via Nuclear Blast and Japan via King Records. The latest release is the follow-up to 2016’s “XI”, which saw the return of Howe.

The official lyric video for “In Styx Embrace” from Nordic epic metal masters SIRENIA can be seen below. The song is taken from the band’s latest album, “Arcane Astral Aeons”, which was released on October 26 via Napalm Records. The follow-up to 2016’s “Dim Days Of Dolor” marks the band’s second LP to feature French vocalist Emmanuelle Zoldan, who replaced Spanish singer Ailyn Giménez García two years ago.

“Arcane Astral Aeons” track listing:

01. In Styx Embrace
02. Into THE Night
03. Love Like Cyanide
04. Desire
05. Asphyxia
06. Queen OF Lies
07. Nos Heures Sombres
08. The Voyage
09. Aerodyne
10. The Twilight Hour
11. Glowing Embers
12. Love Like Cyanide (edit; bonus track)

SIRENIA leader Morten Veland stated about “Arcane Astral Aeons”: “The album was recorded in Audio Avenue Studios (Norway) and Sound Suite Studios (France), while the mixing and mastering took place in Hansen Studios (Denmark) with mixing engineer Jacob Hansen.

“This album is something unique to us as it is the first one we have made together with our fans; everyone who have supported our pledge campaign has directly contributed to the funding of the album and to make it what it has turned out to be.

“We are very proud of what we have achieved together and we’re very eager to share it with you, hoping that you all will find it as special as we do.”

Prior to the recording of “Dim Days Of Dolor”, SIRENIA collaborated with Zoldan on choir vocals on all its albums except its 2002 debut, “At Sixes And Sevens”. She also did some lead vocals on SIRENIA‘s cover version of Leonard Cohen‘s “First We Take Manhattan” on the 2004 EP “Sirenian Shores”.

Veland told Overdrive about Zoldan: “[In] 2003, she was in the studio to record as part of the choir, and we recorded also a cover version of ‘First We Take Manhattan’ by Leonard Cohen. Emmanuelle sang lead vocals on it. It’s been 15 years now and we’ve become really good friends over the years. Two years back, when we needed a new singer for the band, it came very natural for us to ask Emmanuelle. It was a very smooth transition — not like getting somebody new into the band or something like that. We’ve known her and worked with her for so long, it felt really really natural having her as part of the band.”

Regarding his songwriting process, Veland said: “I always do the compositions first, then the lyrics. I found that, for me, it works best. When I start writing the lyrics, all compositions are more or less finished. I like to reflect the feelings and emotions already there in the compositions musically. It’s one of those things that is getting more and more challenging with every album. At this point, I’ve written so many songs that it takes a lot of creative thinking to stay inspired. Most of the time, I write more indirect lyrics, use a lot of metaphors to make people think and write lyrics that are really open to interpretation.Those are the kind of lyrics I always really liked — indirect stuff that you have to give it a lot of thought try to figure out what it’s all about. I love that people can get very different meanings out of it.”

Photo credit: Béranger Bazin